getting lost…

Every time I travel, I’m reminded of how vast this world is.  When I take a wrong turn (which is often) and find myself far from where I’m destined to be, I see a part of someone else’s small world, just as unique as mine. I like getting lost.

It’s a very intimate question “What inspires your work?” You’ll read some intimate answers from a diverse group of visual artists.  Here are a few of many intimate worlds.

Paul Shampine Blog Sculpture Outdoor Sculpture art artist review

"I capture shifting perceptions" - Kathryn Arnold

Kathryn Arnold, San Francisco, CA:  “It, my inspiration for creating, began at a young age. Sitting on the front porch of my childhood home in freezing cold, I noticed the deepness and richness of the color of the winter sky and felt alive. I practiced ‘mental photography’ as a way to keep the image fresh in my mind so as not to forget. This grew into wishing to capture and remember an entire moment, the people, the colors, the vivid sensations of the world around me.  This still inspires me. In my work, I capture shifting perceptions as they change and interact moment by moment mixing with my imagination. Within this, ideas and/or images intermingle.”

Artist: Kathryn Arnold, San Francisco, CA
Title: Fish and Dragon
Medium: Oil on stretched canvas, 7′ x 7′
Website: http://www.kathrynarnold.com/

Aliey Ball, artist and founder of  a fresh water initiative in Melbourne, Australia:
“My work explores the human/nature relationship. I’m a firm believer that humans are “natural”, including our technologies and built environments – though it seems we have forgotten this.  I am passionate about freshwater systems, geology, palaeontology, deep ecology and living systems. Notions of “place” and the phenomenology of space are of great interest to me.

Paul Shampine Blog Sculpture Outdoor Sculpture art artist review

Finalist in this year's Yering Station Sculpture Exhibition, Yarra Glen, Australia

My latest work “Cabal” is a meditation on symbiotic alliances, tran-species affiliations and co-evolution. Composed of four elements, each with orifice and phallus, facilitating interconnectedness toward an emergent structure – a Cabal.”

Artist: Aliey Ball, Melbourne, Australia
Title: Cabal
Medium: Modified gypsum, glass fibres and paint, 900 x 800 x 580 mm
Website: http://alieyball-fineart.blogspot.com/

Artist and writer, Christine Walker, Sonoma County, CA:

“The garden outside my studio walls inspires myPaul Shampine Blog Sculpture Outdoor Sculpture art artist reviewpaintings. From it I pluck a reference palette—petals, leaves, pods, grasses. In the studio, I follow forms and colors until the painting or something—music, memory, currents of feelings and thoughts—suggests the next move. I make marks with brush and hands, sticks and garden tools, investigating nature’s vocabulary, while seeking resonance with an inner landscape.”

Artist: Christine Walker, Sonoma, CA
Title: Come to Me
Medium: Oil on canvas, 52″x44″
Website: http://www.christinewalker.net

Diana Chelaru, Torino, Italy

 

 

Paul Shampine Blog Sculpture Outdoor Sculpture art artist review

"unfold expressively those feelings within myself" - Chelaru

“What inspires my work… is my life and everything that surrounds me. I know sounds like a cliche but thats what it is. For me, art is a means of communications. It is how I express my thoughts, hopes, regrets and joys. Paintings are for me another way of expressing my feelings. Although I often gain great pleasure from the process of painting, it is most important to unfold expressively those feelings within myself. My work uses a visual language of form, color and line to create a composition which exists independently of visual references to the world. In my work I always emphasize on the color as a significant and unifying element. The color helps me create a world that’s at once eerie and alluring, a world that exists only in ones imagination. My art doesn’t speak to the intellect but to the soul and to the feelings.”

Artist: Diana Chelaru
Title: Getting Together, 28”x23″
Website: http://www.dianachelaru.com/

Miya Ando, Brooklyn, NY

Paul Shampine Blog Sculpture Outdoor Sculpture art artist review“i think a lot about intention with regard to the works- i am inspired by introspection, quietude, solitude, finding harmony and balance as we find in nature”

Artist: Miya Ando, Brooklyn, NY
Title: luminous transcendent [meditation 33.1]
Medium: steel, patina, phosphoresence, automotive lacquer, 36”x36″
Website: http://www.miyaando.com

 

 

 
2 thoughts on “getting lost…

Leave a Reply

