Is it boredom? Do I have ADHD…or something else?

Fire pit...with a twist...

Often when I perform a task, I find myself adding a twist. Even with the ridged parameters of an excel spreadsheet, I’ve found art in numbers with cost analysis and business plans. As a bored teenager, I would create abstract-impressionistic patterns when mowing the lawn, and it doesn’t and won’t stop there. In search of answers, I turn to my genetic line.

My Father was a very creative and innovative engineer who designed intricate conveyor systems that robotically handled the most delicate items to large bulky raw materials that required micro-modifications and delivered from point A to Z with precision and efficiency. My open-minded, care-free, adventurous Mother brings just that to her paintings. She’s a great experimental watercolorist that tests tradition and strives to learn and develop her own voice. Her drive to learn and evolve comes from her Father , a beautiful and simple, but extraordinary complex man with a great soul. In retrospect, I believe he never found his true calling, but he lead a very happy and satisfied life.

I fall squarely in the middle with a slight slant on my Father’s side. I view business challenges with a different perspective and hopefully bring that same innovative and fresh ideology to my sculpture. My career choices have been diverse and I’ve lead a very adventurous life. I think I’ve passed those heritable traits, along with a few others to my daughters.

So, for now, let’s go with what I’ve heard before….”you’re something else.”

My current studio...

As I prepare for my upcoming show, I’m getting away from metal for awhile, but sticking close to nature. As nature struggles to repair itself from our invasive actions, I’ve discovered gravity again as I wrangle an invasive plant (wild grape vines) on the property here in Newtown, CT to construct a series of spheres representing…

Leave a Reply

