inspiration – part 2

According to Noah

in·spi·ra·tion Pronunciation: \ˌin(t)-spə-ˈrā-shən
1 a : a divine influence or action on a person believed to qualify him or her
to receive and communicate sacred revelation.
Defined by Connie, Laura, ERICKH, Suzanne, Peggy and Magdalena:

Connie Noyes
, Chicago, IL 
Paul Shampine sculpture sculptor art artist Paul Shampine small business consultant

"I don’t think I can draw a distinction between where my life ends and my art begins" - C. Noyes

“I don’t think I can draw a distinction between where my life ends and my art begins. They are one. What inspires my life also inspires my work. My greatest inspiration is dance/movement.  I have danced my entire life and consequently everything I experience is through my body. I am very physical and consequently my work is very physical.  Often for the viewer when seeing the work live, there is a visceral experience as a result. 

Thoughts, ideas, concepts that are currently (or constantly) finding their way into my work: materials- mundane materials, dynamic relationships, the knowledge that experience is based on perception, presence to the moment, not knowing,  having and holding two dichotomous ideas together in the same space, vulnerability and metaphors of human-ness.” 

Artist: Connie Noyes
Title: In the beginning everything fit together perfectly
Medium: Recycled packing paper, oil, enamel, asphalt, resin on panel, 50 x 50 inches
Website: http://www.connienoyes.com 

Laura Barbosa, New Jersey 

Paul Shampine Laura Barbosa sulptor scupture art artist review

"there is so much me can take from nature" - Laura Barbosa

“My greatest inspiration comes from city life and nature. In the city there is so much going on, from graffiti walls to cool architecture, that it makes for a good painting. People watching is also fascinating and can lead to abstract figures and cubism art. I love color so I like to make a grand composition with different hues to enhance my artwork. Just recently I was inspired by the sun and the moon. The moonlight casting down in the alley of a very urban street with nothing but a garbage can and an old car. Perfect for creating something unique. An abstract cityscape with a raw feel and maybe a cubist human form in the foreground with Batman jumping into the scene. How cool. 

In nature, every creature is fascinating and the colors and patterns from animal fur can be used from realistic portraiture to surreal works of art. There is so much we can take from nature to use in our artwork that every artist could be inspired to create for a lifetime. 

I carry a sketchbook in my bag wherever I go so I can draw new ideas that pop in my head from whatever inspires me in my environment. Daily life is very interesting and fun if we just take the time to look.” 

Artist: Laura Barbosa
Title: UnCanny Valley
Medium: Acrylics and Ink on Canvas, 24″ H x 36″ W x 0.5″ D
Website: http://laurabarbosaart.com 

ERICKH Sculpture, Levens, FrancePaul Shampine Blog Sculpture Outdoor Sculpture art artist review
“My inspiration is drawn from the stone, from my sensibilities and from revealing my hidden emotions.”
Artist: ERICKH
Title: Divine
Medium: Marbre Statuaire de Carrara, 23.6 kg 61x32x16 cm
Website: http://www.erickh.com 

Suzanne Morlock, Wilson, WYPaul Shampine sculpture sculptor art artist Paul Shampine small business consultant 

“Inspiration is an organically evolving thread which builds on the past, is influenced by the present and is filled by the wonder of the unknown future. Artistic inspiration is that elusive element that is different for each person at different points throughout their life.
 

As an artist, I am inspired in particular by the quirky juxtaposition of a thought, a material, an artistic process and/or a moment that flips my internal sensor toward the next steps.” 

Artist: Suzanne Morlock
Installation: I spun old newspapers into a “yarn” and then knitted the yarn with 1.5″ PVC pipe “needles” — the result of a “moment”. The gallery was an old chapel in France.
Website: http://suzannemorlock.com/ 

Peggy Guichu, Phoenix, AZ 

“I suppose life inspires me.  Daily something will touch me in a way that naturally goes into my paintings.  It’s more of a spiritual, subconscious feeling with always the hope that I’ll learn something on the way.  With non Paul Shampine sculptor sculpture art artist review Paul Shampine small business consultantrepresentational work I can tell a story or evoke an emotion without it being obvious.  If you can’t name it then what is left is the imagination and life experiences that allow a personal interpretation. What I love the most is when someone finds something I didn’t see in my work.  Then I know I’ve done my job.” 

Artist: Peggy Guichu
Title: What We Lost
Medium: Oil on canvas, 24″x36″
Website: http://peggyguichu.com 

Magdalena Brzeskot, Koszalin, Poland 

“On question what inspires me….. I am not able to give a firm answer. My paintings, my whole work comes from inner experiences which last since I was a child.  That is my way to create my private world, which in a moment becomes my therapy … as, I have to admit, working makes me relaxed. Doing it, I feel good and safe. But I am mostly interested in a HUMAN BEING and I psychoanalize them.” 

Artist: Magdalena Brzeskot
Title: Silence 2
Medium: Acrylic on canvas, 103 cm x 73 cm
Website: http://www.magdabrzeskot.pl/eng.html

2 thoughts on “inspiration – part 2

Leave a Reply

